To: Facebook

You make the beginnings and ends of relationships infinitely more complicated and messy then they need to be.

You make starting a fling so much easier – picture stalking, friend spying, obsessive updating about feelings.

You make setting the boundaries of “where you are” with your significant other much clearer with your pink heart emoticon that’s always ready to publically take casual fucking or hand holding to the next level.

You quickly spread the news of a breakup so we don’t have to deal with telling people ourselves and you let us know when people are moving on..or stuck in the past.

But the thing that bothers me most about you, Facebook, is me. My addiction to the updates, messages, im-ing, events, photos, and friend requests. I’ve let you condition me to care so much about my virtual connections with people, I’m actually losing sleep over the loss of one.

I know it’s my fault….but fuck you, facebook.

Leave a comment